Clean install of Windows 10 on Turbo-X WinTab: Nailed it!


[NOTE: I hold no responsibility in case you follow the process described below and damage your tablet; it has worked perfectly for me but this does not mean that it will also work for you – try at your own risk!]

Yeap, I am really excited; despite the total lack of support in terms of drivers and all the issues I faced during the last months in terms of trying to clean install Windows 10 on my WinTab, I finally managed to complete it and have everything work properly (including both cameras).

I always want to have a clean install of an operating system and this was the case with my WinTab which currently runs Windows 10 but after upgrading the original Windows 8.1 (so not a clean install); however, I did not have the necessary drivers for the touch screen and the two cameras of the tablet so after a refresh of the OS, I got a misaligned (and non-functional) touch screen and no cameras at all. Plaisio, the distributor and maybe the manufacturer of the tablet does not provide any drivers on their website nor after requests (I was told that they only have an image of the system with Windows 8.1 that they install when needed). I got so frustrated that I kept looking for a solution. And it seems that I found it.

First I created an image of the system using the built-in functionality of Windows 10 – I wanted to make sure that if something went wrong, I could still revert back to a working state. Then I copied the few files I needed (photos, documents etc.) to the SD card that extends the insufficient 32GB storage space of the tablet. After thatñ, I went through the System settings and went for the clean install of the OS (Windows 10) opting to delete everything. Since I had already upgraded to Windows 10 (so I did not need the product key for the upgrade) I could also use a USB flash disk with Windows 10 Home 32bit but I didn’t have to as I could do the same without creating a bootable disk.

The process took quite a while and when I booted into Windows, I noticed that the touch screen was not functional, the cameras were not present/installed at all and there were a couple of devices not properly installed. After the research I made throughout the last months, I ended up with the following solution for these issues (the link to the drivers is at the end of this post):

A. Touch screen

1. Uninstall KMDF HID Minidriver for Touch I2C Device (in the Human Interface Devices) and click on Remove Drivers
2. Uninstall all devices from the Human Interface Devices APART FROM the USB Input Devices
3. Install all .inf files available in the subfolders of the folder [Onda v820w Dual OS Full Touch Drivers JACKBAUER]
4. Copy the file SileadTouch.fw from the Touch screen files folder to C:\Windows\System32\Drivers
5. Restart
Working version of the KMDF HID Minidriver for Touch I2C Device driver: 18.24.23.67, 2/6/2015

 

B. Cameras

1. Update driver of the Intel(R) Imaging Signal Processor 2400 (in Imaging Devices) by manually selecting the camera.inf from the folder Camera_GC310_HM2056_OV2680-5648
2. Restart

Working version of the Intel Imaging Signal Processor 2400 driver: 10.46.22.382, 19/9/2014

The files are available hereGood luck with the process and let me know in the comments of you have managed to successfully apply it in your case 🙂

5 thoughts on “Clean install of Windows 10 on Turbo-X WinTab: Nailed it!

  1. Thanks a lot m8!
    the Secret to ALL Silead STUPID Touch IC is to First Backup the Driver and then Copy the .fw file From system32\drivers
    Then after Windows Fresh Installation Install the Backup Drivers and Copy the .fw to system32\drivers and reboot.
    With Kionix The issue is just a dozen .reg files which need to be applied until one of each corresponds to correct touch register and alignment.
    anyways cheers for your contribution!!
    …and yes, plaisio tech sup sucks big time, they only seek to charge with reinstall fees instead of giving proper support to customers.

    1. No problem; glad I could help and thanks for your tip, too! Such issues seem to be pretty common in the case of low-cost tablets (and other devices); I guess this is the price we have to pay for buying them.

      I got tired and now lack the time needed for making things work the way they should, so I swore I will only buy branded products, with proper support from now on.

  2. Hello friend. First of all allow me to congratulate you for your efforts and the time you dedicate to write down your story. Unfortunately i couldn’t manage to complete my quest. After clean install on Windows 10 1809 in device manger doesn’t appear the devices you wrote. I can’t see neither the touch device nor the camera. Is there any other way to install the drivers, using an .exe or a file to trigger the installation any other way to appear these devices and install the new drivers? Can you post even more detailed information about the installation of these drivers. Please help!

    1. Hi there and sorry for my delayed response. It’s been quite a long time since then and I am afraid I cannot recall details.

      If I were you, I would check the Device Manager for devices with an exclamation mark (and updating their drivers) and/or installing the drivers via the corresponding .inf file (right-clicking on it). I am sorry I cannot be more helpful but have moved to another tablet since then and have almost abandoned the Turbo-X one… 😦

Leave a comment