I recently purchased a Canon Selphy CP1200 for printing selected photos at home (review and rationale to follow soon). One of its advantages was the option to print directly from a smartphone through WiFi, so skipping the hassle of connecting to a laptop or even a PC.

Printing photos from an Android phone was as simple as installing the dedicated app from Canon; no need for drivers, complex setup etc. I only had to set the printing options, connect the printer to my home wireless network and voila: I got my first set of printed photos. However, my main smartphone is a Windows Mobile one… so would this be a problem?

I connected both my Lumia 735 and the printer to the same wireless network – nothing. I connected my Lumia directly to the printer (yes, it works as an access point) – nothing. I started looking for solutions online – nothing. As regards printing from Windows Mobile, Microsoft announced back in 2015 that it would support most of the available ones and in fact it referred to a list of about 1900 printers already supported through WiFi (no USB connection).

It seems that my printer, being a newer model than 2015, is not supported and will not be supported by Microsoft, as the Windows Mobile platform has been abandoned as a whole.

It is unfortunate that Canon did not develop a dedicated printing app for Windows Mobile, as manufacturers like Samsung and Xerox did; this would probably allow us to print from various Canon printers. At the same time, cheaper, entry-level models like the Epson XP-335 are natively supported and work fine with Windows Mobile.

Windows Phone dead_cross

The more time passes by, the more issues I face with my Lumia as my daily driver…

Leave a comment