My life with my white gadgets


Those who know me well know that I don’t like the white color – at all. I never wear white t-shirts and white clothes in general, I don’t like white towels and linen and I wouldn’t buy my gadgets in white. Or would I?

The first time it happened was with my ill-fated Acer Aspire One 751h netbook. I found it on sale when I was in dire need for a small-form laptop and I went directly to the store to get it; alas, it was only available in white…however, the price was so much lower than the other colors available that I had to go for it. The netbook only recently hit the dust, so it is actually collecting dust in a drawer.

Then my Olympus E-300 broke down during a corporate event. I contacted the Greek dealer/official service only to find out that it could not be repaired (and it was way beyond its warranty). Instead, I was offered a demo model of an Olympus E-PM1; a dual-lens kit (14-42mm and 45-150mm lenses) and a body in almost mint condition in a very competitive price. I didn’t ask for the color; it was almost impossible to get in white. But I did. And I had no choice.

Then came my Lumia 720, my first Windows Phone 8 smartphone. I had a gift card from a specific gadget store and I was looking for a jnew smartphone. The specific store (a retailer chain in fact) had a very limited variety of Windows Phones (I even emailed them about that) and I kept checking out their page for updates. After a couple of months the 720 appeared – only in white. I was running out of time (the gift card was about to expire) so I bought that one. In white. About one year ago it was replaced by a lime green Lumia 735.

My WinTab’s keyboard recently broke down – in fact, the keyboard still works fine but it cannot plug into the tablet part anymore. I had plenty of alternatives in the form of Bluetooth keyboards but they were pretty pricey. Since I had to get one sooner or later, I was about to go for one of them and then I saw the Logitech K480 on sale – for just 30 euros. Amazing price for a keyboard that usually sold for 45-50 euros. Guess what? The price was only for the white version, and not the lovely dark grey-lime one hat I liked more. Since I was on a tight budget, I went straight for the white version. It’s working perfectly fine but it is white.

bluetooth-multi-device-keboard-k480
How much cooler is this dark grey/yellow version?

 

I am pretty sure that I’ll have to live with even more white gadgets in the near future. It seems to be my karma, my atonement for all the bad things that I’ve done in my life so far.

Leave a Reply

