Logitech K480 Bluetooth keyboard: First impressions


So the winner of the challenge was the Logitech K480. But why?

  1. I needed a keyboard that would also act as a stand for my crippled WinTab (referring to the broken keyboard)
  2. I needed a keyboard with large keys, as I tend to type a lot, write long blog posts and I have fat fingers
  3. I needed a keyboard at a low price.

The Logitech K480 combined both 1 & 2 and as for 3, I got it brand new for just 30 euros – a real bargain! Setting up my first two devices (my WinTab and my Lumia 735) was as easy as it could be and switching between them was as easy as switching a rocker. Even though I hate white as a color for gadgets, the white version was the only one on sale…

logitech-k480-white

The keyboard is indeed convenient for typing, thanks to its (fairly) large size, about the size of a 10,1-inch tablet’s width. Round keys, easy to find and allow for quick typing. The slot for the tablet is also really neat, where a rubber-like material is used for avoiding scratching of the tablet.

I was worried to hear all these squeaking when I tried to press its edges but trust me, the keyboard does not squeak when one types – at all. It looks like a sturdy piece of hardware, and I hope that it will last long.

I have noticed that when I type really fast, there may be some characters (keystrokes) missing at some points. I have only noticed that while using Microsoft Edge (e.g. authoring blog posts) and I guess it might be due to some issues either with it or with the quality of the WinTab…I will have to check with e.g. MS Word documents but since the issue is not constant, I may have to test it thoroughly.

My overall first impressions are surely positive: The keyboard is easy to use, holds my 10,1-inch tablet both in portrait and landscape mode and connects quickly without any interruption. It may not be the most portable Bluetooth keyboard around (it is quite heavy and bulky, it is not foldable) but it does the work and can transform a tablet into a small-form notebook. I will have to admit that after using it quite a lot during a short trip, it made me rethink the role of my tablet – for the better 😉

Leave a Reply

