R.I.P. Lemmy


One of the first LPs (yeap,  referring to the old school vinyls) I got myself when I got into heavy metal was “No Sleep ’til Hammersmith“; an album that blew my brains out. Lots of speed, energy and harsh sound that made me love this band and keep following them throughout the years. Since then I bought several of their albums (and listened to many more) but I never had the opportunity to see them live.

5172s69mryl-_sx315_bo1204203200_A couple of weeks ago I was browsing Amazon UK for something interesting to read and I found two biographies; one of Lemmy and the other of Tony Iommi (Black Sabbath); the former was delivered directly to me in Athens while the latter to my sister in London, so that I could save on the postage costs. I was still reading Lemmy’s biography when I heard the news about his death; I was really sorry about that, as I deeply respect Lemmy (a 70-year old man who was still rocking that hard!); as I was reading, he has been through so many abuses that it looks like a miracle he lived so long. At the same time, he was a simple man, gentle and straight to the point.

R.I.P. Lemmy and keep strong Tony.

 

Leave a Reply

