Attempting a clean install of Windows 10 to WinTab


It seems that there is no rest for the wicked; especially when the wicked use a Turbo-X WinTab! To make a long story short, just before my last business trip, I realized that the cameras of my tablet were not working – so I could not take photos or video call anyone…the former is not that important as the cameras are nothing special but the latter is – especially when I need to Skype call friends, customers or colleagues. So I decided to fix the issue – a few hours before my trip!

I first tried to find drivers for the camera from Intel (the manufacturer) but it was not possible. Then, I searched for generic drivers from other sources, such as fora and other online sources. This led me to a driver package for Lenovo tablets featuring the same camera. I downloaded on of them. I even installed it. And then I started getting Blue Screens Of Death! I tried rolling back the driver but it did not solve the problem; the package had installed other drivers as well. I even tried deleting some of the affected drivers and tried reinstalling them but this did not work either.

I recalled that I had installed a driver backup app for sending my drivers to another poor guy who had issues with his WinTab so I tried to restore the drivers but no luck. In the end, I booted into Safe Mode, did some work and then managed to make the tablet booth without BSOD. So I thought that everything was ok. However, during the flight I noticed an extremely quick battery drain so that I only got less that half of the typical battery runtime. This caused me issues during my business trip, as I was forced to use my 15-inch laptop all the time – which proved to have a battery lifetime of more than 5 hours with WiFi open!

As soon as I got back home, I decided that it was time for refreshing my Windows 10 installation: I created an image of the system using the built-in functionality of Windows 10 and I even got a copy of some of the files so that I could copy them back to the tablet if all went well. I went for refreshing the installation (not formatting) without keeping the files and settings and expected that everything would run normally. Alas; the touch screen was for once more so misaligned that the tablet was not usable. Since I wanted to avoid getting back to the previous situation by restoring the image, I tried a driver back up tool I had for restoring the previous version of the touch screen driver but for some strange reason, this would not work either – it seems that the current drivers were newer than the previous (working) ones, so the app would not restore them!

In the end, I had to go through restoring the previous version of the OS through the image restore and it seems that the battery lifetime issue is not that severe – the BSOD are also a thing of the past. However, the cameras still don’t work and I need to find a way to make a clean install of Windows 10 without such issues. Only time will tell how much patient I will need to be with this nice but still ill-fated transformer…

Leave a Reply

