External hard disk – The order


I have been searching for a good, reliable, portable and affordable external hard disk for the last 3-4 months (ok, it’s not always easy for me to make such decisions, for things that I want to keep for many years!). It is going to be used for storing my emails/inbox (if and when I find out how to store the Windows Live Mail inbox in an external drive), photos from project meetings and office stuff in general. No personal stuff in there…

One of the most reliable but not so cheap options was the WD My Passport Essential USB 3.0. Its main advantages were the following:

  • All my gadget/hi-tech freaks pals recommended this HD, due to its reliability. No one wants a cheap disk that will crash, leading to loss of of its contents.
  •  It is one of the lightest and more compact HDs around. That was really important for me, as it will be added in my backpack for frequent travelling from and to the office. The less I have to carry, the better for me.
  • I look to the future: USB3.0 will probably be implemented in my next laptop, so it would be nice to have an external HD with this feature (as long as it lives to see that day!).
WD Passport Essential 500GB Red USB 3.0 2.5'
So, after I saw a drop in price last night, I decided to go for it. I ordered it online from Electroworld for 64 euros (price includes shipping costs by courier service) and I already received the order confirmation. I chose the red color, because I believe that it will fit nicely with my pearl-white netbook (with which I plan to pair!). I have already made some purchases online from Electroworld and I was pretty pleased with their services and after-sales support.
Now I am just waiting for the HD to arrive and then I will start adding stuff!
2 thoughts on “External hard disk – The order

    1. Καλησπέρα Σταύρο,

      Σε ευχαριστώ για την απάντηση. Έχω δει αρκετές τέτοιες λύσεις, αλλά αναφέρονται σε backup των email και όχι σε χρήση εξωτερικού δίσκου για χρήση με το ίδιο το inbox (και όχι με το backup). Θα δω μήπως ψαρέψω τίποτα ενδιαφέρον πάντως από τα links!

      Στο μεταξύ φόρτισε το F2G!

Leave a Reply

